

Dr Ashok Bhan Patron and Sh B R Sharma to be the Chairman, IIPA J&K Branch

Dr Ashok Bhan will be the Patron and Shri B.R.Sharma, IAS was re-elected as Chairman of the IIPA, JK Regional Branch for the period 2018-20 during the 39th Annual General Meeting of the Branch which was held on January 6, 2018. During the AGM, the new office bearers for the period 2018 – 2020 were also elected and the Executive Committee was also nominated. The AGM was attended by 63 members of the branch.

Dr S.S.Bloeria, IAS (Retd.) former Patron and Chairman of IIPA, JK Regional Branch in his address emphasized that the activities at the branch should focus around building the capacity for good governance. Further he opined that the scope of activities at the branch should increase and it should emerge as a centre for excellence in public administration and management through research. He proposed that the branch should offer honorary membership which was approved by the AGM.

Dr. Ashok Bhan, IPS (Retd.), Patron of the branch in his address emphasized that the members should undertake research projects through IIPA, JK Regional Branch which are of relevance to the public administration and governance of the state. While appreciation the efforts of the branch both at Jammu and Srinagar, he proposed that training programmes focusing on building competencies to bring about systematic changes in the governance paradigm should be organized for the serving government officers frequently.

The annual report was presented by Er J.B.S.Johar, Hony Secretary and the report on the annual accounts was presented by Vikrant Kuthiala, Hony Treasurer. During deliberations, the members proposed wide variety of programmes which should be organized in future.

The office bearers elected for the period 2018 – 20 were Dr C.M.Seth, Vice Chairman (Jammu), A.M.Watali, IPS (Retd.) Vice Chairman (Kashmir), Dr Pawan Kotwal, IAS Vice Chairman (Central), Er JBS Johar as Hony Secretary, Dr Anil Gupta Joint Secretary (Jammu), G.M.Andrabi Joint Secretary (Kashmir), Vikrant Kuthiala as Hony Treasurer, Prof Alka Sharma

as Director Seminars, Prof S.M.Afzal Qadiri, Joint Director Seminars (Kashmir) and Dr Komal Nagar as Joint Director Seminars (Jammu).

The 15 member Executive Committee for 2018 – 20 will include Rajeshwar Singh, KPS; Er. M M Gupta; Chander Gulhati; Farooq Ahmad, IPS (Retd); K B Jandial, IAS (Retd); Prof Mehraju-din; Prof Shabir Ahmad Bhat; Vinod Malhotra, Dr. G N Qasba; Randheer Singh, KPS; Er. S K Gupta; Sameer Rekhi, T P Singh, Er. V N Sharma, Col (Retd) Karan Singh.

The AGM was preceded by a presentation by Shri A.M.Watali, IPS (Retd.) Vice Chairman, IIPA J&K Regional Branch on his recently released book "**KASHMIR INTIFADA**". He also presented a book for IIPA J&K Regional Branch Veeranna Aivalli Library.

Earlier Prof Alka Sharma Director (Seminars) formally welcomed the august gathering and conducted the proceedings of the function. Er. V N Sharma was the presiding officer during the conduct of the elections. Dr Anil Gupta presented the formal vote of thanks.